The SHARE programme is the European Union’s flagship programme in the field of higher education with the Southeast Asian Association, ASEAN. The SHARE programme supports ASEAN stakeholders to introduce an ASEAN scholarship, modelled on the European Erasmus scholarship, to create an ASEAN Higher Education Area that will enable greater regional harmonisation of ASEAN higher education and increase student mobility across the region. The European Commission, as a donor of the project, has now granted an extension of the project until the end of 2022.

The SHARE programme expansion will enable capacity building, including in the following additional areas:

  • Developing ASEAN Communities of Practice for greater coordination, knowledge management, and Monitoring, Evaluation & Learning (MEL)
  • Strengthening of regional initiatives on quality assurance and accreditation of higher education institutions and study programmes
  • Supporting the implementation of national qualifications frameworks and the ASEAN Qualifications Reference Framework (AQRF)
  • Contributing to the ongoing work of the ASEAN Quality Assurance Network (AQAN)
  • Implementing digital modalities of internationalisation including Virtual Exchange and Collaborative Online International Learning (COIL)
  • Piloting digital credentials recognition and portability to enhance the ASEAN – Europe Credit Transfer System (AECTS) mechanism

Under the newly agreed Memorandum of Understanding between the EU and ASEAN, effective by 27th of February 2021, the EU will provide a budget of €5,175,000 for the SHARE programme, including co-financing of €175,000 from the British Council.

Officially launched in May 2015, SHARE is a €10 million programme funded by the European Union. Since 2016, SHARE has provided a total of around 500 scholarships to ASEAN university students for the duration of the project. The SHARE consortium consists of the DAAD, British Council, ENQA and Nuffic.

Further Information